top of page

Here's A Secret Hot Tip Smarty-Pants...Stop Spinning Your Wheels At Midnight!


It's another rainy night. Our little house is on a hill, as are many homes in East Tennessee. We've unfortunately seen how lack of concentration and driving skills impact our landscape. Literally.

It seems when we have the most scant bit of moisture on the roads that “the dummy” as we cheerfully named him, comes out. This person has no worries apparently about wearing his tires out. Because he makes it sport to zoom around the curb at the bottom of the hill, squealing and skittering back and forth up the hill, then repeat. All. Night. Long. We aren't sure why he does this, why he picks that particular strip of road, and what his personal demons are, but he definitely has some issues.

If I had done that with my car when I was a teen I wouldn't have left my room till menopause. Both my parents have been very strict when it came to the care and upkeep of our cars. Since I had to buy my car and pay for insurance, when mom and dad helped with cash for pricy things like tires and engine repair, I'd better not have caused it by being stupid. Because, really, that's what screeching up and down a wet road is. Stupid.

This is not a teenager either. Or the worlds oldest teenager. Because it's been going on for over twenty years. He or she? Didn't learn anything when one of our neighbors took the street a bit fast, rolled (!) his car through our side yard, taking out our fence, yard and dogwood tree. A year before my husband had taken down our rotten crab apple tree, or he would have hit that too! And how did that accident happen? A coke can rolled off the seat next to the driver, and got wedged under the pedals! Such a simple thing. It could easily have killed him. It did kill the car. Toast. Teen driver. I can't imagine what Dad's insurance rates were after THAT! Eek.

Just another weird thing that happens in my little world. Hopefully it will stop raining for the weekend. Right now it's just a gentle pitter patter on the lovely bright green leaves that surround our house. Good sleeping weather. So with that, we're gonna follow Frax's lead and go to sleep. Good-nite.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page