top of page

So....WHERE have you been?

SO, WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN?

I wish I could write you and tell you I'd been traipsi

ng through the African Congo saving Elephants. Or to the South pole, helping with experiments. Nope on both.

Two things have been going on. I've had five urinary tract infections, one after the other, each laying me low, the MS making me weak because of it. I didn't even want to crack open the laptop I felt so miserable.

The second thing is that my mom (who also gets urinary infections), got one in mid-September. And she died right after her 94th birthday, from a huge stroke covering both hemispheres of her brain. She hung on and fought. For a week. It was no use though. She slipped away on a Saturday. Right before Bill and I were to see her.

Sooooo, my MS has given me fits. I have cried more since September than I thought I had tears to cry. I can't sleep. When I finally pass out and awaken, there are fresh tears on my cheeks where I've cried in my sleep.

So, this is what I've been doing. Nothing that anyone wanting to read about a service dog blog would want to read. However....there's this one thing.

This is my mom, Maxine n'e Schwocho n'e Panaccione n'e Pace n'e Ritter. Maxine Ritter she lived till a week past her 94th birthday. And As you can see in the picture, she had a wonderful time, even swiping the frosting off the top of the cake to eat (there's some left on her nose in the picture!)

My itty bitty mom LOVED Frax. Often in the evening, I would come over to see her, and she was more excited to see Frax. than us! I would take his harness off if he gave me the time, and he would jump up and cuddle with her for hours, till she fell asleep. He would put his huge head across her tummy, and sleep there. I have some beautiful pictures.

My first dog, Jet, loved Dad to distraction. He was there when he died. He jumped up at his last heart-beat (how did he know? Dogs just DO.) and kissed him, then lay his tiny head over Dad's heart.

Dogs, they know. Even when we don't.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page